Lukeyoder's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

New Life…Abundant

July 6, 2012….

3 years…. 3 years…. 3years….

I wonder…  How can time go by so quickly and yet SO much can change… How can it feel like it was a long time ago and still hurt like it was yesterday… Do the vivid images and flashbacks eventually fade and if so, when will that happen… How have my children been affected in the long term… Will it always catch me off guard and will there always be an ache in my heart for the pain my son went through and what should have been the end of his life

These are some of my thoughts on a regular basis… 3 years later.

Here is what I know…

God knows all of these answers.  God understands and feels my pain.  God is not baffled by Luke’s accident. He knit Luke together and he ordained all of Luke’s days. (Psalm 139) God has worked it for good. (Romans 8:28)  Believe me that is a tough pill to swallow and I’m still choking it down, because my son had to suffer.   God does not promise this life will be easy instead he tells us in John 16:33, “I have told you these things so that in me you may have peace.  In this world you will have trouble.  But take heart! I have overcome the world.”   I just LOVE that verse!

I have seen firsthand the Incredible, Mighty, and All-Powerful hand of God.  There are no other explanations, nothing medical or scientific suggesting that Luke should be alive today.  I recently read a book and this one statement made my breath catch, “When a person has no brain activity, they are dead.”  That’s the exact picture that was painted for Ben and I in the ER that terrible day…all they could say was how very sorry they were.  Well, God said “Not yet!”  He heard our cry and showed us his love.

He has plans for my boy and Luke wants to know what they are! 🙂  He has a love for people, especially younger children and often the “underdog” so to speak.  Luke’s heart is kind and tuned in to the heart of God…I pray he remains there. I believe that God has given Luke a true peace about everything that has happened to him.  He just takes it all in stride without complaining or asking “why me?”.  He always has a smile for his docs never fusses about all the poking and sticking that is the regular routine for his life now.  I’ll say it for the rest of my life, “Luke is my hero!”  This Sunday, July 8th Luke and Andrew will be baptized!  I am so happy that the beginning of July will also be remembered for this special event in their lives and for their new life in Christ!!!

“Courage is not the absence of fear, but moving forward in spite of fear!”

“..Perfect love drives out fear..” 1 John 4:18     

So, right now I have 3 wonderful boys sleeping in the next room.  Luke, Andrew, and Carson are having a sleep over tonight.  We didn’t plan it because of the date, God just likes to give us those little nuggets of joy! Ben and I watched them run and play in the pouring rain.  They yelled and laughed and acted plain crazy out there…JOY!  They put on jeans and boots and took flashlights out in the backyard look for frogs and caught 6.  They were SO excited….JOY!  They sat around and laughed while eating cereal and then we all watched Wipeout, which they loved…JOY!  We made them do paper, rock, scissors to pick the showering order…which they didn’t love. 😉  When Ben tucked them in (well after 10pm), they had a special time of reflecting on that day, God’s goodness, and how much each of them has grown in the last 3 years.   It was these 3 boys who were playing together when that nightmare happened 3 years ago…and it was the same 3 boys who spent tonight playing, laughing, and enjoying life together… 3 years later!!!

Praise God from whom all blessings flow!  

Love to you all,

Lindsey

ImageImageImage

                                                                                                                           

July 6, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Just last week, the boys and I were talking about the miracle of Luke’s life and how kind, compassionate and loving he is to the boys. Several weeks ago when Coops wasn’t feeling well, I asked Luke and Andrew quietly if they would be extra good to Mac, at church. Mac reported later that “Luke was soooo nice Mama. He high-fived me and kept smiling at me.” I noted he was waiting to greet them this past Sunday with that gorgeous smile on his face, again! 🙂 Recently, I was wondering how you are processing things…..if it still hurts—if you still have flashbacks, etc. thank you for sharing your heart and being real with where you are still at. I find this encouraging for different aspects of my own life. LOVE the scripture you shared!! Rejoicing with you all today….It was one of the first things I thought of when I realized it was July 6th. BLESSINGS! Give Luke our love!

    Comment by Jessi Cooper-Bowditch | July 6, 2012 | Reply

  2. There is so much I could say …. But I will just say these two things … Luke is our hero too and our God is an awesome God ! We rejoice with you in what God has done, is doing and is going to do in the future !!! Blessings to the boys as they follow the Lord in baptism . Love to you all Uncle Bill & and Aunt Deb ❤

    Comment by Debbie mullet | July 6, 2012 | Reply

  3. Well you’ve got me crying….It’s hard to believe it was 3 years ago it seems like yesterday. All of our lives were changed that day so quickly, it was so scary. But I just always knew he would be fine, I really believed that. Maybe because of everything I had went through with my mom, I don’t know. You guys were so strong through it all, I know your strength had to come from the Lord! Praise the Lord they are all fine and can be together and play and grow up together!! Carson loves the boys so much they are all so good together. So thankful they are in Carsons life!!! We love you guys!!! Shea ( glad they had such a great time last night)

    Comment by Shea yoder | July 6, 2012 | Reply

  4. You do not know me…but I prayed for your son and still have the red armband…Zeph.3:17. I too, am the grateful mother of a grown son who was spared only by the GRACE of God.Please pray my son will live for Jesus,that all the prayers I prayed over him as a child will be answered. In Christ,D.

    Comment by DebbiFlick | July 6, 2012 | Reply

  5. Thank you for your heartfelt reflection, and I admire your strength! So happy to be able to wrap my arms around that sweet boy of yours! Praise be to the Father Almighty – forever grateful for His mercy and healing powers! Lots of love to Luke today (and every day) from the Hochstetlers!!! Praying that God will remove the images and hurt from deep inside your heart so that you may be free! LOVE YOU ALL!

    Comment by Jill Hochstetler | July 6, 2012 | Reply

  6. Oh my, thanks Lindsey for posting, my heart is SO full also, I will just echo what Debbie M said for now…also THANKS again to soo many who prayed & supported Luke, we are humbled & so so grateful. That’s pretty awesome that God planned that special sleepover for 3 very special grandsons, JOY JOY JOY
    Debbie Flick, I will pray for your son…

    Comment by Martha Yoder | July 6, 2012 | Reply


Leave a comment